We're in LA--as in Louisiana! Today we made it out of TX and into LA, ready to start the real fun of our road trip in New Orleans tomorrow.
The morning started at 7 a.m. with a quick breakfast at the hotel, checking out, and a quick walk to the Alamo which opened at 9. These early mornings are not working well for me, but I'm dealing.
The Alamo was neat, but by 9:30 it was already almost 90 degrees out. We kept our visit short, but got a good look around the place, the inside was spare but the garden outside was beautiful. An educational time was had.
After that we drove up to Austin for a BBQ lunch at Iron Works, then walked around 6th Street. It was also unbearably hot there, and we knew we had to at least reach Baton Rouge by tonight, so we headed down a Highway-1-like road from Austin to Houston. I took a nap while Leah drove (these early mornings seem to be giving both me and Leah headaches) then started driving again after we finished driving through Houston. Right before reaching Beaumont, TX, it started pouring rain again. The rain only lasted for about ten minutes, and we got through it safely, but it was intense!
We got to LA and tried to push our way through to Baton Rogue because we wanted to be as close to New Orleans as possible, and we ended up in BR around 9 p.m. Hunger and curiosity got the better of us stopping us at a Cajun restaurant before heading to the hotel for the night.
So we are here at the hotel, and I'm pooped! Time for bed says I, I'm sure Leah will make tomorrow as early as a day as she possibly can (I'm thinking she hates sleep, that's why she wants to wake me up so early every morning--not the more reasonable she-knows-we-have-a-schedule-to-keep).
Good night,
<3 Al
No comments:
Post a Comment